Books & Mags

  • baz-luherman-world-directors-book

    Baz Luhrmann (World Directors)

    Director: Baz Luhrmann

    by Pam Cook
    British Film Institute

    The first major book-length study of the work of Australian film-maker Baz Luhrmann, one of the most exciting and controversial personalities working in World Cinema today

    Shop Now
  • blade-runner-do-androids-dream

    Blade Runner / Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

    Directors: Ridley Scott, Denis Villeneuve

    by Philip K. Dick

    THE book by sci-fi supremo Philip K Dick on which Blade Runner is based.

    Shop Now
  • Brazil-book-Paul-McAuley

    Brazil (BFI Film Classics)

    Director: Terry Gilliam

    by Paul McAuley
    British Film Institute
    As seen in:

    Paul McAuley traces Brazil’s production and critical reception, analyses its retro-futuristic imagery and inventive sequences, and unpicks the narrative’s intricate web of accident, coincidence and allusion.

    Shop Now
  • breuer-book-film-furniture


    Designer: Marcel Breuer

    by Robert McCarter

    The most comprehensive book on architect and designer Marcel Breuer (1902-1981)

    Shop Now
  • david-hicks-scrapbooks-cover-600435David Hicks Scrapbooks

    David Hicks Scrapbooks

    Designer: David Hicks

    Director: Stanley Kubrick

    by Ashley Hicks
    Vendome Press
    As seen in:

    The scrapbooks of legendary interior designer David Hicks (who designed the hexagonal patterned carpet as seen in The Shining) include swatches, sketches and hundreds of photographs, all edited and beautifully presented here by his son Ashley Hicks.

    Shop Now
  • david-hicks-a-life-of-design

    David Hicks: A Life of Design

    Designer: David Hicks

    Director: Stanley Kubrick

    by Ashley Hicks
    Rizzoli International Publications
    As seen in:

    Written by his son Ashley Hicks, “David Hicks: a life of design” is a richly-illustrated survey of the designer’s career. David Hicks was the designer behind the bold patterned hexagonal patterned carpet in Kubrick’s The Shining.

    Shop Now
  • Designs-on-film

    Designs on Film: A Century of Hollywood Art Direction

    by Cathy Whitlock

    With hundreds of rare photographs, set sketches, and original renderings showcasing films of every era and genre, author Cathy Whitlock offers movie fans a backstage pass to 100 years of Hollywood’s most memorable film sets.

    Shop Now
  • Eames-beautiful-details

    Eames: Beautiful Details

    Designer: Charles and Ray Eames

    by Demetrios Eames
    AMMO Books

    A huge, weighty and beautiful book – a must for fans of Charles and Ray Eames furniture and design philosophy.

    Shop Now
  • fifty-chairs-changed-world

    Fifty Chairs that Changed the World

    by Design Museum

    From the Design Museum: The top 50 chairs that have made a substantial impact in the world of British design today.

    Shop Now
  • production-design

    FilmCraft: Production Design

    by Fionnuala Halligan
    Ilex Press

    Sixteen of the worlds greatest production designers share their insights, anecdotes, and technical achievements, through a series of exclusive interviews.

    Shop Now
  • mid-century-modern-complete

    Mid-Century Modern Complete

    by Dominic Bradbury
    Thames and Hudson

    This definitive survey of one of the most popular, collectable and dynamic periods of international design offers a rich overview of all aspects of the subject.

    Shop Now
  • On-Kubrick

    On Kubrick

    Director: Stanley Kubrick

    by James Naremore
    British Film Institute

    This study offers provocative analysis of each of Stanley Kubrick’s films, with new information on their production histories and cultural contexts.

    Shop Now
  • Patternity

    PATTERNITY: A New Way of Seeing

    by Patternity

    From fashion and design to the natural world, look beyond the mundane forms that we see every day to find the hidden beauty in the underlying patterns that normally pass us by.

    Approx £20.00 / $26

    Shop Now
  • Scandinavian-country-book

    Scandinavian Country

    by Chrystina Schmidt, Magnus Englund
    Ryland, Peters & Small Ltd

    Celebrating the variety and versatility of Scandinavian rural style, this inspirational book showcases an array of beautiful homes in Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden, reflecting the special relationship that Scandinavians have with nature

    Shop Now
  • scandinavian-design

    Scandinavian Design

    by Charlotte & Peter Fiell

    A well designed pictorial collection of the essence of Scandinavian creativity from furniture, metalware, glass, textiles and ceramics as well as commercial products from companies like Hasselblad, IKEA, Lego, Saab.

    Shop Now
  • Scandinavian-modern-book

    Scandinavian Modern

    by Magnus Englund, Christina Schmidt
    Ryland Peters & Small

    In Scandinavian Modern, Magnus Englund and Christina Schmidt of design store Skandium trace the development of the Scandinavian style, introduce key designers and take a look at some of the most stylish homes in Scandinavia.

    Shop Now